Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Ignition System

#1   IP: 142.68.124.246
Old 08-24-2008, 06:29 PM
Afourian MVP

A4 original ignition schematic (basic version)

[UPDATED 26 August 2008: new diagram after double-checking the actual wiring installation (original image had been from the boat model's manual). This lead to a couple of minor changes in the text too.]

This is the ignition/charging circuit on the Atomic 4 on our "new" old sailboat that I am refitting. Disclaimer: These are my personal notes, and I am not a mechanic. Please correct me if there seem to be errors. By the way - I am not entirely sure if the wire sizes shown here are correct. I meant to check before posting this image.

Components:

1. The starter, alternator, coil and distributor are all attached to the engine.
2. The ammeter, ignition switch and starter switch are on the ignition panel in the cockpit.
3. The wiring for FG and AJ are in the wiring harness that runs from the engine to the ignition panel.

A - Large post on the starter solenoid. Hot with 12 volt electricity from the (+) post on the battery. This post is "hot" all the time when the battery selector switch is on whether or not the engine is running or the ignition switch is pushed in. So are the terminals at J, H and B.

BC - Ignition switch in the cockpit. Pull the handle out to close the circuit, allowing electricity to flow from the battery to the coil at D (+ terminal) and the ignition panel gauges. Accidentally leaving this switch pulled out when the engine is not running is not a good thing (constant power to the coil and maybe other appliances, such as an electronic fuel pump).