Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Owner Discussion Groups > Discussion Groups > Irwin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   IP: 72.91.48.64
Old 11-26-2015, 09:27 AM
Mermaidquest's Avatar
Mermaidquest Mermaidquest is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: The Narrows,Mkr.24 Fla.
Posts: 18
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
proper torque of head bolts

I'm not clear on what is meant by re-torque of the head-nuts after initial run-up. Do you break the nuts loose and start over or simply test the torque on the nuts as the are? Things have changed in 35 years!
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 24.152.132.65
Old 11-26-2015, 10:31 AM
ndutton's Avatar
ndutton ndutton is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 8,229
Thanks: 127
Thanked 1,068 Times in 718 Posts
I don't think loosening before retorquing is intended. If it were I'm sure Don would have been specific about it in the MMI manual.
__________________
Neil
1977 Catalina 30
San Pedro, California
prior boats 1987 Westsail 32, 1970 Catalina 22
Had my hands in a few others
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ndutton For This Useful Post:
Mermaidquest (11-26-2015)
  #3   IP: 97.93.94.201
Old 11-26-2015, 11:41 AM
Dave Neptune Dave Neptune is online now
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lake Arrowhead Ca.
Posts: 3,857
Thanks: 365
Thanked 289 Times in 208 Posts
Thumbs up

Mermaidquest, when retorquing do not loosen first!!!! The purpose of retorquing is just that of continuing to tighten as the gasket compresses over time. When torqueing a large flat area like a head it is important to tighten it sequentially and a bit at a time. In doing so you should notice that each time around you start the nut moving at less torque than you had tightened it with, that is the gasket compressing. After a few times of torqueing at "spec" and you get no more movement your done UNTIL YOU START THE ENGINE!!

Once you have run the engine and warmed it up it will need to be torqued again as the heat and pulsing of the cylinders firing will allow for further compression of the gasket. Keep the retorquing up until you get no movement. even if it takes a few warm and cool cycles. Then the head will stay put for a good long time. Mine has been on for over 30 years now since I had it off last.

The above is the single most important reason for having lubricated and good clean studs and nuts for this purpose. Dirty, rusty or sticky studs or nuts should be replaced for proper torqueing.

Note do not apply more than spec to see if you can get one to move, just go to spec repeatedly in order and with patience.

Happy Thanksgiving to all

Dave Neptune
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Dave Neptune For This Useful Post:
Administrator (11-26-2015), Easy Rider (11-27-2015), hanleyclifford (11-26-2015), Mermaidquest (11-26-2015)
  #4   IP: 107.0.6.150
Old 11-26-2015, 12:07 PM
hanleyclifford hanleyclifford is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,803
Thanks: 121
Thanked 152 Times in 128 Posts
Talking

As Neil once posted, "things that are more easily done are more likely to be accomplished", or words to that effect. With that in mind, and thinking about the A4 cylinder head, it is prudent to plan the lay out and routing of hoses and accessories on the top of the engine with as few impediments to the re torqueing as possible. It is important enough to requiring good access to the nuts that on occasion we might redirect or add fittings to achieve it. If you don't re torque, head trouble is bound to happen.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hanleyclifford For This Useful Post:
edwardc (11-26-2015), Mermaidquest (11-26-2015)
  #5   IP: 32.211.28.40
Old 11-27-2015, 07:52 PM
Al Schober's Avatar
Al Schober Al Schober is offline
Afourian MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Uncasville, CT
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 6
Thanked 158 Times in 138 Posts
Agree, do not loosen - just tighten.
First engine job I did, used a torque wrench where you had to read the pointer against the scale. Not very convenient, but not much to go wrong with it.
Currently have two 'click' type wrenches in different ranges and they're very convenient - but I don't trust them and like to check them using the old beam type wrench (still have it). I wouldn't recommend buying a 'click' type wrench from Harbor Freight - savings aren't worth the potential cost of them being grossly wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cracked Block From Old Head Bolts? Smuggli General Maintenance 3 07-07-2014 11:01 PM
water seapage around head bolts Mike Wythe Cooling System 6 07-29-2013 09:02 PM
A Way To Avoid Stuck Head Bolts? domagami General Maintenance 5 09-10-2010 07:10 PM
Torque Specs for Altern Bolts? forcenine Electrical 2 09-05-2007 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Universal® is a registered trademark of Westerbeke Corporation

Copyright © 2004-2018 Moyer Marine Inc.

All Rights Reserved