Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 108.39.36.2
Old 01-04-2018, 11:11 PM
Frequent Contributor

Frozen A4

I am the proud new owner of a Tartan 30 that came with an A4 that is frozen. I have spent some time searching the archives, have the Moyer manual (came with the boat!), and a few other A4 resources.

1) I am not a mechanic by any stretch but am trying to work my way through the assessment and hopeful repair...but I apologize if my questions seem basic as this is my first large boat (first was a 22 with a small outboard) and I am very much a novice.

Here is where I'm at:
-The batteries are good according to the hydrometer readings.
-When I first tried to start it, there was a loud "clunk" then nothing. I removed the starter, bench tested it, and verified it works as designed. The clunk seems to be the gear engaging the flywheel but not being able to move it.
-I am unable to turn the flywheel with a screwdriver through the bore for the starter.
-I removed sparkplugs and poured 50/50 ATF and Acetone mix into the head. The mix promptly poured right into the blige from the carburetor (did I do something wrong/miss something to have the mix flow right out?)
-I have removed the flame arrestor to clean and carburetor for a rebuild (will be doing this over the next few days)

If it helps:
-Based on the diagrams in the manuals, mine is a late model A4
-Manual fuel pump
-raw water cooled
-as with all Tartan 30s, the engine is located just to the aft of the mast and just port of center line, oriented with the flywheel facing forward and a few inches from the bulkhead to the head (access to the alternator side is wide open, access to the carburetor side is very tight against the settee).

Appreciate any help or guidance with getting this old A4 back to running condition!

Jason

Last edited by JasonAmbrose; 01-05-2018 at 12:51 PM.
  #2   IP: 138.207.172.243