Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Overhaul

#1   IP: 82.132.215.196
Old 09-25-2019, 01:39 PM
Frequent Contributor

A4 has been sitting in the desert for 12 years

Hello all!

I recently got my first boat, a Cal 2-27 with its original Atomic 4. The boat was sailed in freshwater for years before I got it, but it has spent the last 12 years sitting on a trailer in the PO's backyard in Arizona. The engine hasn't been run in all that time. My project for the winter is to get it running again. I don't know a lot about the condition of the engine, but I am anticipating it will need a pretty thorough overhaul. So my question is, what sort of problems can I expect an A4 that has been sitting in the Arizona heat for 12 years to have? I am completely new to gas engines, and I know about as much about the engine in question as you all do now, so really I'm wondering, where should I start??

Any and all help is very much appreciated!

Cheers,

Laura
  #2   IP: 209.210.252.244
Old 09-25-2019, 02:53 PM

Laura,

One plus here is that it's been sitting in the dry desert for 12 years, as opposed to a wet, salty environment like most other boats. Rust is the issue, and if that's not too bad in your case you might be lucky.

First thing to determine is if the motor even rotates or if it's seized up. Get a big lever on either the flywheel up front or the prop shaft in the rear and see if you can rotate the crank. If so, that will lead us down one path toward advising you (that may not even require removal/rebuild!). If the engine is seized up, that will lead us down another path.

Good luck! I look forward to seeing how this plays out.
lauratheexplorer (09-26-2019)
  #3   IP: 67.176.201.200
Old 09-25-2019, 04:03 PM
Afourian MVP