Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

#1   IP: 74.87.48.81
Old 11-08-2013, 06:19 PM

Carburator Problem??

The reason I say that with a question mark is because I'm not really sure that's the problem, but likely it is. I'm a fare mechanic but only been tinkering with friends boat (atomic 4) for a while. I'm sure I could take the carb apart and spend endless house rebuilding it. Not really into it. I was thinking of just buying a new one and being done with it. If that's a good idea? Boat is about mid 1970's 32' Islander

Engine has always ran well. Some choke problems, idle problems, but all in all not bad to live with. Well, the other day she just decided to give us fits on a short little sunset sail. Going out of the harbor died several times.... restart.... struggle.... jetty.... Made it out. Coming back in died after a couple minutes.... restart.... struggle.... jetty.... Made it to the slip. I not good with stressing about running aground.

Fresh gas, getting fuel, electronics OK. Question is to rebuild or not to rebuild? The carburetor looks simple enough but just haven't gotten into it yet. Is it worth it?

HELP!!!
  #2   IP: 161.213.49.150
Old 11-08-2013, 06:44 PM
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus

Yes it's worth a rebuild if the carb is the problem.
Mechanical or electric fuel pump? If electric try bypassing or shorting across the OPSS (oil pressure safety switch). Sounds to me like you are running on one carb bowl full of fuel then the enging dies.

TRUE GRIT

Last edited by JOHN COOKSON; 11-08-2013 at 06:52 PM.
  #3   IP: 71.183.233.183
Old 11-08-2013, 06:47 PM

The carb is simple to rebuild. In many cases, you can just open it up and clean it, without replacing anything. If dirt in the carb is the problem, it may return quickly if you don't find the source of the dirt.
  #4   IP: 107.0.6.242
Old 11-08-2013, 07:52 PM
Afourian MVP

Talking