• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jsmickey19
    • Apr 2014

Broken oil pressure sending unit nipple

Hi All
    Climbing into my boat today (with the companion way stairs out) I managed to slip and snap the oil pressure sending unit off flush at the block.
    I plan on picking up a set of extractors tomorrow and will attempt to remove the remaining nipple from the block.
    As this is my first time attempting this operation I would appreciate any input, tips, tricks, etc. on how not to make a bad situation worse.

Thanks
    JSMickey
  • hanleyclifford
    Afourian MVP
    • Mar 2010

The extractor is probably the worst thing you can do; you will likely break off the extractor and have an even greater problem. The best thing is to drill out the material with increasing sizes until the threads remaining can be picked out with a sharp tool. If you can score a few left handed drill bits that is first prize. Sometimes the broken nipple end will just spin out for you. You should also have a 1/8" NPT tap on hand to chase the threads.

Comment

• joe_db
      Afourian MVP
      • May 2009

Before you try all that, it might not be stuck. You can try a screwdriver or small chisel that will grab the inside of the remaining pipe and see if you can unscrew it. Don't overdo it and make a worse mess
      Joe Della Barba
      Coquina
      C&C 35 MK I
      Maryland USA

Comment

• jstaff
        • Oct 2004

Originally posted by jsmickey19 View Post
        As this is my first time attempting this operation I would appreciate any input, tips, tricks, etc. on how not to make a bad situation worse.
        I would suggest that you use a small hammer to tap lightly on the extractor while applying a constant, firm pressure on the extractor. I would hold the extractor with small pair of vice grips, and gently tap-tap-tap-tap... And gently apply twisting pressure.

Be patient, and gentle...

Comment

• jsmickey19
          • Apr 2014

Originally posted by joe_db View Post