Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Electrical
Register FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

#1   IP: 142.68.122.18
Old 11-13-2008, 04:48 AM
Afourian MVP

ACR and Atomic 4

Warning: I am an amateur on the learning curve with this stuff.

Steve and I are figuring out how to live with ACR-based charging systems on our boats. He proposed that we start a thread on this topic, so here goes.

My tentative charging/ignition schematic, showing the ACR:
http://www.moyermarine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2695
My tentative ignition panel schematic:
http://www.moyermarine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2727

The ACR Steve and I are using:
Blue Sea ACR 7610
Combiner battery switch 5511e
(both in kit 7650 http://bluesea.com/category/2/productline/overview/329)
Basic circuit with this kit: http://bluesea.com/files/images/products/7650.jpg. I am not endorsing this kit, it just happened to be available at a good price, and seemed to do what I want. Nor do I have any connection with Blue Sea.

There is an interesting thread on this in the Whaler forum:
http://continuouswave.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/001232.html

For discussion, let's assume a simple system on 20's foot sailboat:
Two batteries, both the same age, type and brand.
One battery in a house circuit, the other battery dedicated to engine start only.
The battery combiner switch is ON-OFF-COMBINE.
The ACR is not in the engine starter circuit. One cable goes to the engine battery (+) post, the other goes to the house battery (+) post. When the battery being charged gets up over 13-something volts, the ACR turns on and parallels the two batteries, allowing the second battery to be charged as well as the first.
The alternator output goes to the engine start battery.