Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

#1   IP: 108.18.156.185
Old 11-29-2018, 10:17 PM

Fuel leak (with pic)

Hi Everyone -
I have a gas smell in the engine compartment and a small amount of gas in the bilge. The engine had been running great -- no smell of gas since I've been running it for a couple of months. I thought it was coming from the fuel line and was about to replace the line, but when I started cleaning everything up, i noticed this part seems to be seeping fuel from the bolts or around the edges.

Sorry for the ignorance. Can anyone tell me what exactly I'm looking at here and why/how it could be leaking? I have some ideas after reading the manual, but I'm still unsure. I found it online too and maybe it needs a new O-ring? Would that make it leak? Or maybe replace the "element"? Just looking for someone who might have the same thing or know about one.

Notice the wetness around the bolts and the outer edge of the top of this. That's fuel and it reappears quickly right after I clean it off.

I don't want to mess with leaking fuel, so I will probably pay someone to come and check the whole thing out, but I'd really appreciate some advice.

Thanks so much,
Matt
('75 Sabre 28 -- I love to sail, but I stink with engines)
Attached Images

Last edited by Mattlurzo; 11-29-2018 at 10:35 PM.
  #2   IP: 70.67.30.98
Old 11-29-2018, 10:51 PM
Afourian MVP

First thing I would suspect is the problem is the "O" ring under the lid. You need to carefully remove the cover and have a look. Be sure to turn off the fuel upstream from the filter usually located at fuel outlet on tank. The numbers on the lid are not overly clear but here is what I think you have.
https://www.groco.net/media/file/fil...and-gf-375.pdf

71 Ranger 29
The Following User Says Thank You to Easy Rider For This Useful Post:
Mattlurzo (11-30-2018)
  #3   IP: 107.77.97.120
Old 11-29-2018, 11:18 PM
Afourian MVP