Good Guy in San Diego to install rebuilt engine.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • guylogan
    • May 2011

Good Guy in San Diego to install rebuilt engine.

I'm giving up and plan on buying a exchange engine from MMI, will need to find a yard or shop to do the swap. I have worked with both Shelter Island Boat yard and with Driscol and found both great for haul out but have not had any yard work done on engine. Any comments woul be appreciated.

Guy Logan

guylogan@The-ranch.net
  • jpian0923
    Afourian MVP
    • Sep 2010

I'm almost tempted to throw my hat in the ring but I'm not a pro.
    Also, I have no experience with boat yards yet.
    Get some quotes and report back. I'd be interested in what they have to say.
    What kind of boat do you have and where are you docked?
    "Jim"
    S/V "Ahoi"
    1967 Islander 29
    Harbor Island, San Diego
    2/7/67 A4 Engine Block date

Comment

• roadnsky
      Afourian MVP
      • Dec 2008

Originally posted by guylogan View Post
      I'm giving up and plan on buying a exchange engine from MMI, will need to find a yard or shop to do the swap. I have worked with both Shelter Island Boat yard and with Driscol and found both great for haul out but have not had any yard work done on engine. Any comments woul be appreciated.

Guy Logan

guylogan@The-ranch.net
      Can't actually give you a recommendation but just had to comment...

Worked for 2 years at Driscol's when I was an 18 year old snot nosed surf rat.
      Learned most of what I know about sailboats in that yard.
      Man, the memories and how the years do fly by...

Might give my vote to Driscols just for nostalgia.
      -Jerry

'Lone Ranger'
      sigpic
      1978 RANGER 30

Comment

• Dave Neptune
        Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus
        • Jan 2007

Removing engine + beer?