Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Introductions

#1   IP: 209.124.164.147
Old 03-09-2013, 07:06 PM
MMI Webmaster

Introduction/question from rhcranejr

We found this posted off-forum by new member rhcranejr:

Quote:
I am a complete newbe when talking a4 so please be kind. i just bought an e27 with an a4. so my question is what should i do if the boat has been on the hard for 3 years. i have ordered plugs and wires what else should i get?
  #2   IP: 24.224.152.244
Old 03-09-2013, 08:06 PM
Afourian MVP

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Administrator View Post
We found this posted off-forum by new member rhcranejr:
First tidbit of advice is: Buy the MMI manual. You can call Ken or order it online. It will help your a great deal.

The big concern with boats that were on the hard is:

1. Winterization if stored in a cold climate.

Problems that could be associated with a bad winterization:
-broken fittings
-ruptured strainer
-ruptured hoses
-ruptured manifold
-ruptured muffler
-cracked water jackets etc
...if it was properly winterized should have avoided having to deal with any of these issues. For the most part, people winterize their engines so the problems should be minimal.

2. Water getting into the boat and actually staying there.

Problems associated with water in the boat.
-rust on and inside the engine...water actually gets in the engine if the level is high enough up the flywheel. There are cases where the crank was literally rusty due to water incursion into the engine by a flooded boat on the hard.
-engine may be seized
-starter usually damaged and need replacement
-sometimes altenator damaged and needs replacement
-wiring that was in the water usually need replacement
-all grounds etc pretty much need to be looked at and cleaned or replaced as necessary.
-rust everywhere

If there was any water in the oil :