Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 50.255.147.157
Old 07-24-2018, 10:55 AM

Diagnosing no compression post water in cylinder

Hello I’m a newbie to the Atomic 4 world and was hoping to get some advice/input from the experts out there. I should first thank this forum for all the information i have gathered up to this point. The moyer manual has been a great help also.
Without going into all the gory details, a friends Pearson 28-1 had flooded with 10 inches of seawater, and unfortunately the other friend who had discovered it bail it out and unsuccessfully tried to start the engine.
I climbed on board the next day, fixed the leak in the boat and took a look at the engine. I took off the drain plug and water came gushing out of the block. Oh boy. I siphoned the rest of the oil out and replaced with 4 fresh quarts and a can of seafoam (I have since replaced with 50/50 sae30/ATF).
I took out the spark plugs and gave the engine a bump, and yep, water fountains. Mostly out of 3 and 4. I pour some mystery oil in the chambers and gave another bump, a little more mystery oil and lightly replaced the spark plugs (it was getting dark).
Eventually i did a compression test. Dry 115,115,85,0. Eeek. Did a wet test with cylinder 4 and it came up to 85. So I concluded most likely a cylinder problem and hopefully a ring.
Next day i proceed to work on getting the head off, the cylinder 4 end came loose rather easy with a few taps. The thermostat corner on the other end, however, was not as compliant. I did a little work on it and went home to let PB Blaster continue the work.