Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

#1   IP: 142.68.126.98
Old 01-02-2009, 07:17 AM
Afourian MVP

Facet fuel pump notes

I spent a bunch of time researching this new to me electric fuel pump business. I am replacing the old warped A4 mechanical pump a new Facet from MMI. Thought others might be interested in what I've learned. Don Moyer did a lot of research into these pumps, and most of this is gathered from a search of his notes scattered throughout the forums. If I've got something wrong, then please jump in and provide a correction. I am using the 3 psi pump, not the 4 psi pump model needed in some installations, but most of this applies to both, I imagine.

Note: I am not an expert on this stuff. Reader beware.

I think I have the Facet 477-060E model. From the Facet website, with some modification by me http://facet-purolator.com/index.php...=14&Itemid=36> :
a. 4 - 2.75 max-min psi (nominal "3" psi)
b. 34 gph
c. 1/8-27 INT fitting
d. 24 dry lift inches minimum
e. 74 micron fuel filter built in (replaceable, but not intended for user maintenance, and not intended for primary fuel filtration, hence the recommendation to use a 10 micron fuel/water separation filter upstream of the pump, and a 7 micron filter addon downstream.)
f. No check valve feature (other models do).
g. No positive shut-off feature (otehr models do).
h. About 1.6 amp draw? (that's the average for their whole product line).
i. Self priming and self regulating.
j. The only service normally required is a simple cleaning of the filter and fuel inlet cavity.
---
From the forum archives and other sources: