Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Owner Discussion Groups > Discussion Groups > Pearson

#1   IP: 128.154.131.133
Old 08-28-2009, 02:45 PM
Afourian MVP

Pearson 323 Atomic-4 Removal

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum. I'm in the process of acquiring a 1977 Pearson 323 with the original, raw-water cooled, Atomic-4 engine. The engine has received some upgrades (elec. ign., elec fuel pump, oil filter) and some maintenance repairs (new side plate, new intake manifold, new head gasket) but has never been rebuilt. It's running well and strong now, but I know that after 32 years of salt-water exposure, there can't be much thickness left to the cooling jacket walls. Sometime in the future (could be tomorrow, could be years from now) it's going to need replacing, so I'm studying up on what it is going to take.

One of the things about the P-323 is that the engine uses a Walter v-drive. This results in the engine facing the opposite way than in most boats (flywheel towards the stern), and results in an installation that is further aft than in most boats, with the engine under the cockpit floor.

I'm looking to hear from P-323 owners that have removed and replaced their A4 to see how they went about it and what problems they encountered. The "balance bar" tool I saw in another post here looks like it has promise. Have any P-323 owners tried it?

@(^.^)@ Ed
  #2   IP: 138.88.85.81
Old 08-29-2009, 10:37 PM
Afourian MVP

Fwc

Hi Ed,

I do not have a Pearson. However, I recently acquired a Catalina 30 from 1977. It is raw water cooled, and I scraped a lot of scaley (sp?) parts of the block when working on the motor. Mine has never been rebuilt either, but I've also been able to get it running reliably and strong, compared to what I would call 'anemic' and 'near the end of its life' , reported by the previous owner.