Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Overhaul

#1   IP: 174.214.1.241
Old 09-11-2017, 01:21 PM

Novice looking for Atomic 4- SF Bay Area

Hi all:

I recently purchased a 37 foot Chris Craft 1967 Apache sailboat. The boat needs some work, and I have been steadily learning the basics of boat repair and maintenance. However, the most glaring problem with the boat is its Atomic 4 engine, which is frozen and has been partially disassembled by the previous owner. I know nothing about engines, and had to take the previous owners word that the best course of action would be to seek out a reliable replacement engine.

My questions are as follows:
-can anyone point me to engines for sale on the West coast, specifically near San Francisco
-does anyone have general advice as to how to go about addressing this repair or replacement?
-I am a substitute teacher with limited funds. I have budgeted $750 to put towards this. Can I get this done for that amount?

My email address is architeuthosaurus@gmail.com

I would appreciate any and all advice as to how I might make st efficiently get this boat running
  #2   IP: 137.200.32.22
Old 09-11-2017, 06:20 PM
Afourian MVP

Thanked 1,026 Times in 721 Posts
$750 for a good A4 is going to be a marginal operation at best. I spent twice that and considered myself lucky.
Despite the low funds, step 1 HAS TO BE getting the Moyer manual. Your existing engine might not be as bad as you think ... or maybe it is worse
  #3   IP: 71.38.68.214
Old 09-11-2017, 06:41 PM
Afourian MVP

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie. View Post
...I have been steadily learning the basics of boat repair and maintenance.
...I know nothing about engines

I would appreciate any and all advice as to how I might make st efficiently get this boat running
Hi Charley-
Welcome to the forum!
Your first comment tells me you are more than half way there.
Meaning that you are WILLING.