Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > General Maintenance

#1   IP: 63.228.209.194
Old 06-17-2009, 06:47 PM
Frequent Contributor

Talking basic maintenance questions

I was directed to become a member here where all the "experts" are I just purchased a 1975 Ranger 29 with, of coarse, and atomic 4 engine. This is my first boat so I am still learning about it. The engine seems to run pretty well right now, but I want to do the right thing. I would like to do some some basic preventative maintenance/tune up and make sure everything is where it should be. I have the Moyer service manual which came with the boat and I am in the process of reading through it. I thought I would ask any advice for what to start with. I plan to change oil, plugs, etc. BUT, I am not even sure where the drain plug is located OR what the best way to drain oil on a boat would be.

Also, an inventory on your most used tools and where/how you store them would also be helpful. Plus, extra parts that seem to be handy to keep onboard.

From what I hear these are pretty basic engines to work on and I am fairly competent, but if there is anyone locally in the Tacoma area I would love some beginner basics. Thanks to everyone in advance.
  #2   IP: 71.252.20.96
Old 06-17-2009, 09:31 PM
Afourian MVP

welcome!

Most people pump the oil out of the dipstick tube (aft stbd, behind the distributor), or use the Moyer kit which pumps it out of the top of the oil pan. (port side, in the middle of the pan/engine.)

If it is running well, great! If you have a compression tester, that can help determine if all cylinders are pumping equally.

Tools - I have an SAE set of combination wrenches - the largest I've needed so far is 3/4" (oil pressure adjustment) - the smallest 1/4" (choke cable) - Some of the more common sizes you may need two for loosening a bolt/nut combo... 1/2", 9/16", 5/8"