Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Fuel System

#1   IP: 98.2.233.78
Old 07-09-2017, 12:13 AM

Motor runs fine then dies a few minutes after restart.

I have had what appears to be a fuel pump problem. I have a relatively new Facet electric pump on an A4 that I have been running with almost no problems for more than 20 years with only careful regular maintenance. But at the end of last season anad again now, I am having some problems

When I first turn the key on, the pump runs fast and never slows down like my old pump did, presumably when the fuel line has enough pressure. it just keeps running fast

When the motor runs it seems to be fine. Very smooth, starts quickly, etc.
But if I shut off the motor and restart it, say after sailing for an hour, it often runs for a few minutes then dies. And clearly it sounds like there is no fuel getting to the carburetor. When I turn on the key and try a restart I hear the fuel pump behaving the same way - clicking rapidly and not slowing down. Sometimes it runs again for a while and sometimes I can't start it.

I have tried disconnecting the fuel line and turning the pump on, and indeed it is pumping fuel. I also know that the lines are not clogged. Could it simply be that its not pumping enough fuel and never pressurizing enough? Generally if I remove the hoses then reconnect them, the motor restarts, but tonight even that did not work, and I was left drifting in no wind.

I do not understand why it is less likely to run after running and then being shut off

I am thinking the best bet would simply be to swap out the fuel pump. I have another one somewhere - but I am just trying to figure out what is going on. Any ideas?

Thank you -

Erik Jorgensen, Portland Maine.
  #2   IP: 100.36.89.105
Old 07-09-2017, 08:06 AM
Afourian MVP

I've had these same symptoms, and been left drifting in a channel without an engine too. Here's what I found.