Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Cooling System

#1   IP: 108.18.156.185
Old 01-01-2019, 03:17 PM

Winterizing - T-Valve, Bypass, and Procedure

Happy New Year!

I've read great posts about winterizing, and I think I'm ready to give it a go. I am new to owning an engine (got the boat in September and running in October) and still only have basic knowledge, so I am just making sure I understand this and what I'm looking at. Any help would be very much appreciated.

I've attached an image of the engine serial number and model, if that helps. Sorry the pictures are sideways!

The 2nd image shows what I think to be the T-Valve (looks like a garden hose attachment). It's after the raw water intake and before the strainer. Am I correct that that this is where I attach the hose to the bucket with the anti-freeze/water mix?

The last picture shows the thermostat and the line running to it. There is no valve there. I have read that I need to remove the thermostat and pinch off the hose/line running to it. But I've also seen that I should run anti-freeze through once with the thermostat in and then once without, if I have an older model. Do I need to run it through twice like that, or is this engine a new enough model (it's in a 1975 Sabre 28) so that I just remove the thermostat and pinch the line before running the anti-freeze through?

Two final things I'm curious about. I read that once I take out the thermostat, I need to replace the gasket before putting it back in. Is this correct? Also, the repair manual says to leave one of the drain plugs open. Am I supposed to do that? I was thinking the antifreeze would leak out if I did.

I will follow the step-by-step procedures from Mr. Moyer in the main winterizing section, which are very clear, I just want to be sure that I'm seeing things the right way with the engine.

Cheers and thanks so much,
Matt
Attached Images

#2   IP: 24.224.195.189