Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Introductions

#1   IP: 66.183.68.23
Old 05-31-2009, 11:24 PM

Where's Reverse??

I'm new to this stuff, so please bear with me. I just recently (like two weeks ago) purchase my first sail boat, although I have a life long history of power boating. My friend and I were sailing and motoring the boat back home, always going forwards and not suspecting a problem with reverse, atleast not till be tried docking. The transmission would not go into reverse, much to our surprise. We pulled off a less than text book docking, but all is well. Subsequently, I checked with the previous owner and he admitted that reverse was always difficult to find, but it always worked one way or the other. I'm not into hit and miss docking, and this situation is unaceptable.

I've read the owners manual, researched the net and have found lots of info for adjusting the transmission, but no real information for a transmission that will not go into reverse. Perhaps this is just an adjustment issue, but I'm not certain of this having never had experience with an Atomic 4 before. Part of my problem is that I have not had the opportunity to see for myself how it really should work, as this is my first experience.

What I've done so far is to start at the shifter and linkage - clean them up and make certain that all is working as far as the transmission lever. The transmission goes into forward no problem and I can hear the click as it engages. It returns to neutral fine, although neutral seems to be have a very, very small range. I cannot for the life of me, get the lever to go into reverse.

Could it be that the reverse is set too tight? I'm suspecting this only because of the very limited range of "neutral". The range of neutral position is no more than 1/4" on the lever.

Comments or suggestions?
  #2   IP: 75.196.153.242
Old 06-01-2009, 08:30 AM