Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Exhaust System

#1   IP: 209.234.189.74
Old 03-18-2015, 03:32 PM

Cranking raw water cooled the engine too much then vapor or smoke

Hi All!

I'm new to the atomic 4 game, and have an exhaust related question.

Starting up the engine for the first time on a new boat I neglected to open the valve on the fuel line and cranked for a while without the engine turning over. It was probably around a minute give or take total cranking time. Eventually figured out what was up, and got the thing running. The next day I got this in an e-mail
Important! If for some reason you have to crank the motor a bunch make sure to close the raw water intake otherwise it sucks water back up into the exhaust manifold and mucks things up.

Fast forward to the next trip out, first extended test under load, the engine ran fine for 20 minutes or so, then started to stumble, then die. Next time, a little longer, but similar symptoms. These I was attributing to bad gas, which I changed out last week, and started up, ran under load at the dock for about an hour no issues, but I did notice a lot of white smoke or vapor coming out of the exhaust. I believe it's vapor because it dissipates relatively quickly. The vapor is pretty minimal under low to moderate load, somewhat typical for

My question
Does it sound like water has backed up into the exhaust manifold?

If so, What do I do about it?

Thanks

tim
  #2   IP: 71.118.13.238
Old 03-18-2015, 07:51 PM
Afourian MVP, Professor Emeritus

Thanked 1,289 Times in 839 Posts
Tim, it blew out when you got it running. Cranking for extended "STARTING LIKE TIMES" can cause a build up of water in the "exhaust" of which can back up far enough to flood the exhaust manifold, no biggie. The biggie is that an open exhaust valve or two may let the water into the cylinders and on into the oil~~ big mess and possible seizing of the engine!!!