Return to the home page...

Go Back   Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians > Discussion Topics > Troubleshooting

#1   IP: 99.192.85.255
Old 06-14-2017, 05:31 PM

Making very little power

Hi Afourians,

I'm new to these forums, as I am new to Atomic 4 maintenance - how great that this resource exists! My girlfriend has a Pearson 30 with the venerable A4 in the bilge, and it is not making enough power, and has me stumped. I have reviewed the other threads, and feel like I have tried pretty much everything, although given the motor still isn't making it's power, I clearly have not found the problem yet. Here's some information that seems relevant:
  • New carburettor installed - motor now starts and runs reliably, just with very little power.
  • Prop cleaned, shaft checked for anything which might bind - turns freely, and there is no further sign of fouling (it was covered in barnacles previously).
  • Ignition is the electronic variety, plugs are new, plug wires are new, cap and rotor look new, although I don't know their age.
  • Cylinder 1 plug is sooting up quite a lot, cylinders 2 and 4 look lovely, and cylinder 3 looks mildly fouled when I pull them to check.
  • All plugs making good, clean spark.
  • Compression checks out around 80-90 on all cylinders.
  • Electric fuel pump and inline filter are new - and bypassing all but the fuel pump and drawing fuel from a jerry can does not change anything.
  • Cracking open the flame arrestor to make sure air supply is adequate doesn't change anything.

The motor starts just fine, and does the usual running poorly in forward and better in reverse, revs fine in neutral, etc. It's just not making power - and I don't think it's rev-range related, as even in reverse, when it revs higher due to the transmission gearing, it still isn't making much power - i.e. it won't rev right up, just goes a little higher.