Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians

Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cooling System (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Gushing water near grease cup (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11036)

Mattlurzo 03-31-2019 11:43 AM

Gushing water near grease cup

1 Attachment(s)
Here we go again. I'm very new to this engine and engines in general, but I'm trying to learn. So far everyone here has been so helpful. Thank you!

I went out yesterday and after reinstalling the thermostat, replacing the spark plugs, etc, the engine started right up. After checking for leaks, I found this :eek:

There is a steady stream of water coming from just forward of the grease cup. I've attached a picture from the video I took. You might be able to view the video here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1f6M...ew?usp=sharing

Any insights and help would be very appreciated!

Thanks!
Matt

1975 Sabre 28

ndutton 03-31-2019 12:03 PM

The only source of water in that area is from the pump body itself and is making its way out via either a damaged shaft seal or a freeze crack. If the budget allows this would be a great time to consider a new MMI 502 flange pump.
https://moyermarine.com/product/mmi-...p-csob_00_365/
You'd better check you oil for water contamination too.

Mattlurzo 03-31-2019 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ndutton (Post 116167)
The only source of water in that area is from the pump body itself and is making its way out via either a damaged shaft seal or a freeze crack. If the budget allows this would be a great time to consider a new MMI 502 flange pump.
https://moyermarine.com/product/mmi-...p-csob_00_365/
You'd better check you oil for water contamination too.

Wow that's not the best news. The engine was winterized, but I was still worried about freezing because we had a few ridiculously cold days this winter.