Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians

Moyer Marine Atomic 4 Community - Home of the Afourians (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reversing Gear (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   V Drive & reversing gear - Advice needed. (https://www.moyermarineforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11482)

Rando1201 05-10-2020 05:56 PM

V Drive & reversing gear - Advice needed.

3 Attachment(s)
Hello, more advice is needed. I have a boat with a blown motor in it, looks like it used a V drive, the replacement motor I bought seems to be direct drive.
Im reading through the overhaul section on the reversing gear removal. Just curious. Would I pull off the old transmission from my motor on my boat then install it on the replacement motor.

The old motor is the reddish pink, the replacement is blue. See pics. Thanks. I'm just not sure if I could go straight drive or go through the hassle of hooking up the V drive. I'm not a mechanic, although I do have the manual, is this job worthy of hiring out?

Edit: I keep running into issues, from my other posts, I discovered a lot of rust in the head under the thermostat. I bought the motor for $1000, now I'm thinking I am just going to keep spinning my wheels. All this time and energy could be justified potentially by buying a newly rebuilt engine, and I could just say F* it, and forget about all this crap.

Al Schober 05-10-2020 06:28 PM

The BIG question here (in my mind) is whether the blue engine is better than the pink one. I'm not going to try to answer that question here.
Yes, the transmission outputs are different. Pink engine has a spline output for the V-drive. Blue one has a keyed output for direct drive. Unless you're going to rebuild the interior of your boat, you're going to stay with the V-drive.